The game of cricket was first played on a regular basis in Leverstock Green during the 1920’s. Matches were played on farmland off Pancake Lane for some years, then, when the land was needed, the Club moved a short distance to Cherry Tree Lane.
The team, consisting mainly of members of the village, played regular Saturday matches until the end of the 1939 season, when, due to the outbreak of the Second World War, it was reluctantly forced to disband.
It was not until 1957, almost twenty years later, that several players from those early days, together with local residents both old and new managed to persuade the authorities to allow the ground as we know it today to be used as a cricket pitch. This then became the new home of Leverstock Green Cricket Club.
Only one eleven played at this time, with a fixture list for both Saturday and Sunday games. In 1964 a second eleven was formed and over the years increasing membership has enabled the club to field four regular Saturday XIs and a Sunday XI.
The Club can also boast a succesful juniors programme, with young players representing LGCC at six different age groups.
With a thriving social membership and excellent facilities we have come a long way from the early days in Pancake Lane.
Club Established: 1908
Headquarters: 'The Green', Bedmond Road, Leverstock Green, Hemel Hempstead
Facilities: Turf Cricket Pitch, Artificial Turf Practise Nets x 2, Clubhouse Changing Rooms, Clubhouse Bar
Clubhouse Phone Number: 01442 261288 (between 8pm -11pm or on matchdays from 12pm)
Club Colours: Green and Gold
First Team Titles: 2003 (Div. 2), 2007 (Div. 3), 2008 (Div 2), 2015 (Div 2)
Second Team Titles: 1980, 1982, 1987, 2014 (Div 6)
1st XI - 2000, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2015, 2017
2nd XI - 2005, 2006, 2009, 2014, 2017
3rd XI - 2004, 2007, 2008
4th XI - 2008, 2017